Board slate announced

June 26, 2017
Our by-laws require that the following notification be sent to all representatives of Chamber member companies.
Three Chamber Board seats are due to become vacant in October, and business leaders from various business sectors have been nominated to fill the vacancies. The slate of names was put forward by the Nominating Committee, a group appointed by the Board in accordance with The Chamber’s By-Laws, to set the annual election process in motion. The nominees were selected on the basis of their individual strengths and the demographics of The Chamber’s membership, according to Johanna Hurme (5468796 Architecture), Chair of the Nominating Committee.
Last call for nominations
Additional nominations for the Board may be made until July 15, 2017.  The following conditions governing nominations are described in paragraph 5.4 of The Chamber By-Laws:

  • Nominations must be made on the prescribed form available from Loren Remillard, President of The Chamber.
  • To be included on the ballot, a nomination must be signed by a minimum of five Chamber members.
  • The member nominated must sign an undertaking to carry out his or her duties faithfully and diligently, if elected.  At a minimum, this will require regular attendance at Board meetings, which are held on the fourth Thursday of every second month at 8:00 a.m.
  • The completed nomination form must reach The Chamber offices by no later than July 15, 2017
  • Retiring Board members of the present Board who have served four consecutive years are not eligible for re-election.
Board Nominees for 2017-2018
  • Czarnecki, Shandra [MLT Aikins]                          
  • Haus, Dawn [True North Sports & Entertainment]
  • Rosen, Richard [Neil Bardal Funeral Centre]
To be installed by virtue of office
  • Hurme, Johanna [5468796 Architecture]      CHAIR
  • Ibrahim, Wadood [Protegra]                           PAST CHAIR OF THE BOARD 2016/2017
  • Mehta-Shah, Priti [49-97 Capital Partners]    PAST CHAIR OF THE BOARD 2015/2016
  • Remillard, Loren [Winnipeg Chamber]           PRESIDENT and CEO